It’s All Different Now

Well, here it is.

After a few months of sitting on my hands with news, I finally get to turn this barely functioning blog into a productive member of blog society. I have a new venture that will be a huge feat on a couple levels. Level One- I’m inconsistent here. No, really. Level Two- I’ll probably be busier now trying to find writing time than before when I had all. kinds. of. time.

I’m going to be a dad. On purpose. Bam.

We found out the Sunday before our last few days with Bailey, so you could say the emotions surrounding everything had been at threat level midnight.

I’m excited, terrified and overflowing with emotions that would probably rival most mental patients. Not the same emotions of mental patients mind you, just…overflowing. And good thing for the kid is that he or she will have this online journal to use as reference material when they visit their shrink in 30 years. I’m nothing if not here to help.

I never thought that when I changed my blog to Never Had One Lesson, that it would become the perfect definition for this journey. I have plans to contribute many a post about becoming a dad. What to expect, what naive expectations I already have. I mean I don’t even know why it shouldn’t just take a week or so to potty train a newborn. And just a tip, a baby can cry in a garage just as much as they can cry in a closer nursery room. Fact.

I’m beyond excited and more in love with the wife than ever before. It’s only a few months in and I have no idea how she does it. I get bloated after good pizza so I just can’t even imagine all of that.

So, here’s to Never Had One Lesson as an expectant dad.

I pray for us all.

7 thoughts on “It’s All Different Now

  1. Congrats! It’s so thoughtful that you’d think of the child’s future already by using your blog to document every point during his/her development where you scarred him/her for life. It’s an example I’ll be sure to follow when my turn comes along.

  2. It’s a wonderful, beautiful journey that is filled with bliss and tremendous enjoyme….nope….can’t do it. I’m holding in my meniacal laughter and debating if I should tell you about the times I’ve thought about putting all the food at his level and a big bowl of water, and then getting in the car and driving to Colorado.

    (But seriously, congrats on both blog and baby.)

Leave a Reply

