What Comes Next?

Yeah, I’ll admit it. Marriage is on the brain so shoot me. Actually don’t shoot me. Court has been reliving her love of Sons of Anarchy with me so I can get up to speed with the current season and if you did shoot me, there will definitely be retaliation. And you don’t want to face someone who learned retaliation methods from the folks of SAMCRO. Just trying to help you out, shooter.

So I can’t help to think what will be expected after the wedding day is over. Not that NIGHT, perverts. I know there’s a big feast and some sort of expected circus show. I’m no dummy. I’m talking about the day-to-day life after  you do walk out of that chapel and after the honeymoon week at some resort where you eat and drink until you are beached out by the water. After all that… then what? So much focus has been put on one thing the past 6 months, it’s weird to think that it will be over and new things will need to be figured out.

Just some random thoughts that have been popping up the last few weeks:

– Like what closet space do I really get? I get that they really only expect for you to have a total of 3 shirts 2 pairs of pants  that can go neatly on the end of the rack and the funny thing is that those 5 articles of clothing are still scrunched up to the max.

– Okay, the towel is not on the floor. It’s on the rack. Not like yours that looks like it’s straight out of the Fall issue of Pottery Barn. It’s hanging. Off the ground. Now, off my back.

– Will I get the disapproving eye when all I want at 1:00 am is a peanut butter and jelly sandwich?

– Do I have to go to bed when YOU go to bed?

– If you get invited to go to the flower nurseries to check on Spring’s new line, does that mean I have to go check out the flowers with you and your friends or can I still go do ANYTHING ELSE IN THE WORLD?

– Will the amount of toilet tissue I use for everyday use become an issue after we tie this knot?

– If I want to watch 7 straight hours of Property Brothers, then I feel like I should be able to watch 7 straight hours of Property Brothers.

– I really just think that a toothbrush left on the counter is simply more readily accessible for the next usage, no?

– You can cover up with layers. I can’t peel off my skin. The fan stays on.

– When I watch movies, I don’t like talking. I like to talk when I’m not watching a movie. We good?

Funny thing is that I can’t wait to find all this stuff out. The  growing pains that awaits seems to be a good thing. Or a fun thing at least for me. I mean, how hard can it be to live with me? I only have 2 pairs of pants.

13 thoughts on “What Comes Next?

  1. Every relationship is different, but I feel like I should answer these questions from my point of view.

    – I’m not sexist – whoever has the most clothing gets the most closet space. That seems to make sense. If you want more closet space, buy more clothes.

    – I’m itchy just reading this. Straighten out the towel.

    – Eat if you’re hungry. Judgy eyes won’t be so judgy when you fall down dead from malnutrition.

    – Oddly, we do usually go to bed at the same time. Not a rule, just a habit.

    – NO! Don’t do stuff with each other just for the sake of doing stuff with each other. Do your own thing, too, or you’ll drive each other to meth.

    – I think, as long as the roll is always changed, you should get to use as much as you need.

    – As long as there’s more than one tv, marathons are ok. If there’s only one, you have to share.

    – Two sinks in the bathroom is probably a marriage-saver.

    – Agreed.

    – Talking during movies should be punishable by duct-tape over the mouth. Second offence means an automatic movie-watching-priviledge revocation.

  2. Don’t you know the song? First comes love, then comes marriage. Then comes Jerrod pushing the baby carriage. Duh.

    As long as you put the toilet paper roll in correctly–over not under–I would assume that your marriage will be fine.

  3. Yes, “they” all have *lots* of clothes, and stringent closet rules. GROAN, women, am I right? 😉

    Also, pb&j is fine, but don’t sneak it and then come over and kiss your wife. Peanut butter breath is super gross for some reason. Not that I know this.

    Don’t worry about this stuff. I assume that you’ve been spending a lot of time together already and aren’t participating in an arranged marriage, before which you’ve been hidden in your respective villages? Just be cool. Be cool. And kind. You’ll figure out the rest.

    Oh, and apologize first whenever things get crappy. You’re both going to have to apologize anyway; someone might as well take the lead.

  4. Great questions. We are still trying to figure some of this out in our household.
    Here’s what we’ve done..
    Closets, by a house with two walk ins in the master. l still got the bigger one. 😉

    No. Towels (clothes or random crap). On. The. Floor.

    We go to bed at the same time. *wink, wink*

    We are still working the “doing anything else in the world” stuff out. It has gotten touchy a few times.

    Toilet paper usage is fair game…just replenish the supply.
    TV marathons must be negotiated…we only have one tv.

    I shared your sentiment, apparently THAT is gross. It has ahome in a drawer now.

    I’m the one that runs hot and he let me win this one. Fan stays on.

    We both don’t talk during movies.

    Ha, we learned all that in the first year! My hope for you is that you are able to laugh with and sometimes at one another knowing that as long as you are together…you will make it through everything. It will be so much fun.

  5. TV marathons are awesome. But then what will you watch? My biggest issue was “will I have to change my name?” Me with his last name just sounds so… Weird! I’m uber glad I got to keep my name. Not that its a cool name, but at least its not uber weird. Oh and late night snacks of any kind are cool as long as the counter has been wiped off, dirty dishes put away, and tether brushed after eating. Since my guy does none of those and I don’t really care all that much, I’m sure you’ll be safe too! Give and take right?

    p.s. I’m rambling… I’m just waiting for my wash to be done!

  6. Kahlil Gibran said it best:

    “Let there be spaces in your togetherness,
    And let the winds of the heavens dance between you.
    Love one another but make not a bond of love:
    Let it rather be a moving sea between the shores of your souls.
    Fill each other’s cup but drink not from one cup.
    Give one another of your bread but eat not from the same loaf.
    Sing and dance together and be joyous, but let each one of you be alone,
    Even as the strings of a lute are alone though they quiver with the same music.
    Give your hearts, but not into each other’s keeping.
    For only the hand of Life can contain your hearts.
    And stand together, yet not too near together:
    For the pillars of the temple stand apart,
    And the oak tree and the cypress grow not in each other’s shadow”.

    I know that Kahlil didn’t mention the towel thing, but if he did, he’d probably just say: Pick your fucking towel up, dude.

    Otherwise, I think he nailed it.

Leave a Reply

