A Life Less Blogging

I used to be one of you.

It’s pretty good odds that most who read blogs are also ones that write them so yes, I used to do that.  I did a few things here.  I had my own site of course and also helped start up a couple of other sites that had me pretty busy.  It was fun for a long time.

Then it was like going 70mph and hitting a brick wall.

Nothing was flowing anymore.  The writing felt like a chore. The more I tried to “reinvent” myself and start over, the worse it became.  The less I felt like myself.

No one can write well when they aren’t being themselves.  It just can’t happen.

There are so many writers out there that I admire and who I look up to thinking “This is they way you do it, this is how you do it right”.  But the thing is that it’s their right way.  It’s what makes it right, for them.

I’m starting over.  Completely.  I’m not just doing my tired “changing my blog focus” or simply changing how the blog looks.  I’m not trying to become a version of someone I admire or trying to find the easy way for a successful blog.  That stuff will drive you insane and most of the time, you fall short.  I need to remember that a blog can be funny.  It can be serious.  It can also just as brilliantly be dumb and a total time-suck.

I hope to lose some of the hesitance I had when trying to write. The good thing is that there’s more things in the real life that now have my attention.   More to write about.  Possibly. There’s the dog.  And the girl.  And the future.  There’s always the future.

So here it is.  Stripped down to a basic blog.  Not even getting the official domain name yet.  Maybe at some point.  I need to get back to how I started.  I need to remember building something from the ground up.

A lot has happened in the past year.  Some amazing things that should fill up some of these early pages. 

There’s also some things I will never write about because it deserved to end when it did.  Period.

I made the mistake of looking at each “blog focus” as a new start.  Funny thing is that I don’t really feel I ever did take a new start.  I’ve just evolved into where I am now.  This isn’t a new version of the previous 3 years.  It’s simply the start of something without a past.  The ties have been cut and I’m simply beginning to put my left in front of my right again.

And for the first time in quite a long time, it makes sense.

9 thoughts on “A Life Less Blogging

  1. I know I’m late to this game, but yay! And I have to say I agree with everything you said and kind of have a draft of a post about the very topic of everyone’s obsession with success and being an “expert” at blogging, trying to fit into some niche to be the next (insert name of successful blogger actually making money) instead of being the first of themselves.

    It’s a hobby. It’s an outlet. It’s a way to connect. It’s not that serious, but damn. I’m glad you’re back 🙂

  2. Pingback: My Turn |
  3. I’m really rather glad I came back to the blogging world. I would never have seen your new place. It looks good here. Clean and refreshing. You won’t know my new name as I started over some time ago and then just let it sit for a while. My old name, itsallabitrandom is probably how you’d remember me. I’m super glad you’re back at it. *smiles*

    • Lovely Rita!!! Great to see you around here! Thanks for the compliment. It’s been pretty scarce around here but I hope to revive it a bit with some new stuff. Marriage I think is good blogging fodder. 🙂

      Hope to hear more about how your life has been going!

Leave a Reply

